May 7, 2007

Never Again.

Posted in Literature, Movies, peace, Politics, Uncategorized, World at 7:27 pm by Kaylaface.

My English class is studying the Holocaust right now. We’ve read Night by Elie Wiesel who is a survivor, watched Spielberg’s Schindler’s List, written essays and journal entries, etc. We’ve buried our heads for the past six weeks into the past. Yesterday we went even further. We took a field trip to the National Holocaust Museum in Washington D.C. If I could have taken pictures, I would have. There was so much to see and it was breathtaking. Everything about it, the pictures, the artifacts, the videos, everything. There were times I wanted to cry and times I felt nauseous. In one part of the museum they have an actual cattle car that was used to transport the Jews from the Ghettos to the concentration camps and when I walked through it, I wanted to puke so bad. I guess studying it and seeing all the pictures and such graphic descriptions of how it was in the cars was just too much. Luckily, I didn’t. I want to go back. I want to go read more than I did. I want to see it all. We were only allowed in the permanent exhibit, but I want to go see everything else. And then do some more touring of DC. I bought a pin that says “Never Again” which is a theme that is taught from the Holocaust. There’s also a Jewish hip-hop artist who goes by the name of Remedy. One of his songs is “Never Again” which we listened to. I found the video and I wanted to share it with someone.

This video seems so powerful to me and I want to spread the word. Even though we say that we’re never going to let genocide happen again, we’re wrong. It’s happened plenty of times since then and it’s still going on now. Has anyone paid attention to Darfur? Or are we turning our cheeks again until it’s too late? Ethiopia, Cambodia, Al-Anfal, Bosnia, Rwanda. The list goes on. Just because they’re third world doesn’t mean we do what we did to the Jews in WWII. Why are we in Iraq FIGHTING when Darfur needs help establishing peace? How can America be a great country that’s all for world peace if we sit back and watch other countries fall to pieces? I’ve heard dumb asses say it’s not our fight, but it is. NEVER AGAIN. We made a promise to never let genocide happen again, no matter where it is, but we’re breaking that promise. It’s the whole wide world’s fight. How can we establish world peace if we can’t even stand up for each other in a time of need? Is it because they’re not as up-to-date as we are? What’s going to happen if one day genocide hits here and we start asking for help and they just turn the other way? Then what?

8 Comments »

  1. akk said,

    Hey there,

    I just read your insightful, poingnant, and eloquent blog and I agree absolutely with every word you wrote. Our willingness to look the other way in Cambodia, Rwanda, Bosnia, and now Darfur makes “never again” sound like nothing more than a hollow political slogan.

    It’ll take a lot of effort on the part of intelligent, compassionate, and dedicated people like you to make this world a better place, one in which “never again” becomes a reality.

    Keep fighting the good fight. Keep being yourself. Keep sticking up for your beliefs. Keep dreaming. And always remember, you are not alone.

  2. WhoreChurch said,

    Great post Kayla.

    Because of our actions in Iraq I’m afraid we are about to see a resurgence in genocide there–and far worse than anything the Bathists inflicted.

    Morality is all well and good until we need to take something for ourselves. Then we invade. Of course it is always for their own good.

  3. Thanks. I’m glad to know I’m not alone. It just angers me that we can let something like the Holocaust repeat itself, especially since we said Never again.

    Akk, I agree with you so much. Never Again seems to be nothing more than a political slogan and that makes my blood boil. Never Again really does mean so much more than a bunch of empty words. Never Again stands for world peace and equality. It’s all about making sure that the horrors of the Holocaust are never seen again. Which is complete and utter crap.

    It’s not fair that the children of America are raised to believe we’re such a great country and we’re all for peace in the world, when we’re really just as stuck up and greedy as everyone else. I’ve always believed America is so great and free and loving. What the heck was I thinking? Don’t get me wrong, I love my country and it is much better than other places, but I DO NOT agree with the way things are run and the things we stand for these days. World Peace does not mean go to the Middle East and blow everything and everyone up. I may be wrong here, but weren’t we over there looking for Saddam??? Hello!! He’s been caught. He’s been hanged. So why still be over there?? Not only are we killing the Iraqis, but we’re killing our own soldiers as well.

    And Kevin, if another genocide happens there, it’ll just show that America is nothing but a hypocrital liars. Their own good isn’t to be dead. It’s to be alive and happy and making the most of life and learning, smiling, running, laughing, feeling the warm sun on the face. “Their own good” would even to be able to wake up and be thankful to open their eyes again. Not to watch as we kill off their family and friends. Not thinking that they are next.

    I think I need to go let my blood pressure settle.

  4. Yvonne said,

    Well said, my friend. Well said. I agree with on, on all counts.

    Great post.

  5. history said,

    We just listened to the song in English class yesterday, I agree that genocide is terrible, should we help in Dafur? Morally yes. But we shouldn’t right now. We are stretched to the limits in Iraq and Afghanistan. Not to mention all the other soldiers deployed all over the world. Also you think the insurgency in Iraq is bad? Well they say it would be a lot worse in Africa.

    As horrible as it is, Africa doomed their own fate on October 3-4 1993. Most of us know it simply as Black Hawk Down. 19 American soldiers died in the battle. But it made politicians here think why are we there The Clinton administration didn’t help in Bosnia, or with Hutus, and the Tutsi. It was an event like this that made the power that is in Washington not want to help.

  6. emily said,

    hey i am doing a project on the holocaust and you really never know how bad and horribel it really is untill you actually see it or read it so yea its a horrible thing so now all we can do is prevent it from ever happing againg cause ya know history repeats. please pray for all those that died during this tragic time and pray for the ones that made it ok i hahve to get back to my project good bye!!!

  7. Thanks Emily. I hope you get a great grade on your project. I’ve always known it was a horrible time in history and it’s always turned my stomach, but when I actually stepped foot in the museum and walked through the cattle cars, it really hit me. History always repeats itself; Darfur, Rwanda, Bosnia, etc. We can hope and support the current victims of genocide all the while remember those we couldn’t save.

    I wear my “Save Darfur” bracelet everyday and I don’t ever take it off. It gives me a chance to explain what’s happening and spread the word. Maybe it helps and maybe it doesn’t, but all I can do is hope that its the former.

    Again, good luck and thank you.

  8. хорошая новость: “Мисс Россия-2010” И.Антоненко получила сертификат на 100 тыс. долларов, корону, украшенную россыпью из 2,5 тысяч бриллиантов и редких жемчужин, а также право представлять Россию на конкурсе “Мисс Мира”.

    Скачать photoshop


Leave a Reply

