August 9, 2007

That White Neon.

Posted in Angels, Death, Family, God, Granny., Life, Personal, Religion, vacation at 10:55 pm by Kaylaface.

angel.gifThe car from my past, the one that the Grim Reaper himself now drove, passed me the other day and I knew it was time. That was the moment I truly realized I believe in angels. I’m not big on religion or God or any of that stuff, but I truly believe in angels. Not the harp playing ones assisting the God I have trouble believing in when we go to Heaven, but angels who are beings that have a sole purpose: to guide us through life. My grandmother was mine. Even now she’s gone, I know she’s still my guardian angel guarding me from harm and guiding me through this journey through life.


Back in the day, before she died, she drove this little white neon that I hated. Man, was that an ugly car. But she loved it and it got us from home to church and back and that’s what mattered. Three years next month she’ll be gone. A little after three in the afternoon. That was the time they declared Aunt Helen to be on her trip to the west coast.

I saw that car the other day, the neon. Although I couldn’t see the actual driver, I know that was my grandmother on her way to get my Aunt Helen. I’m guessing Grim let her take this one. They were good pals, Aunt Helen and Granny Bea. Mom may have been joking when she said Granny was on her way to get Aunt Helen, but I wasn’t. I think they spent some time together before they went home. They’re probably vacationing somewhere in California right now while we’re still here, on the east coast, hunting some party dresses down and trying to keep our heads up. I know they’re happy and without the pain they both went through at the end and that’s what keeps me going. That, and knowing that now I’ve got two guardian angels watching me.

Granny, I love you and miss more than you know. You are my world and there isn’t a day that goes by that I don’t think of you. I know you’re happier and better than the last time I saw you and I’m okay with that. I just want you to know I love you very much. I hope that while you are watching me, you are smiling. I hope I’ve made you proud so far in life and I hope I continue to do so. If I die tomorrow, I want to know you are proud to say I’m your granddaughter and that you’ll be there to take me Home with you, wherever that may be. See you later, Granny Bea.

Aunt Helen, you’ve been gone but a few hours and I already miss you. I know sometimes I didn’t show the appreciation or care for you that I should have, and I’m sorry. I want you to know that I’m grateful for everything you’ve done for me and our family over the years. You are an amazing woman and you will truly be missed. Take care of my Granny for me. I know you’ve missed her, too. Have a great time in California and I’ll see you later. I love you so much.

4 Comments »

  1. Diana said,

    “Perhaps they are not stars, but rather openings in heaven where the love of our lost ones pours through and shines down upon us to let us know they are happy.” – Eskimo Proverb

    “Love is stronger than death even though it can’t stop death from happening, but no matter how hard death tries it can’t separate people from love. It can’t take away our memories either. In the end, life is stronger than death.”
    – Unknown

    Our thoughts are with you more so at this time, but always. Know that they are not gone but needed a better view of you. Loves, Hugs, and Kisses – The Wonder Family : )

  2. Thanks “Diana” and Wonder family. I love you. Those quotes really mean something to me.

  3. WhoreChurch said,

    Kayla,

    I was abscent when your aunt died. I’m sorry for you and your family, but I am impressed by the way you honor her as well as your grandma.

    I need to introduce you to my sons.

    Kevin

  4. Guess who just brightened up my day? 🙂 Thanks a lot!


Leave a Reply

