December 31, 2007

Another Year Gone.

Posted in Life, Personal at 9:09 pm by Kaylaface.

First off, I’d like to take the time to wish everyone a Happy New Year’s Eve. I hope everyone has had a great holiday season.

Now, It’s almost 8 which means there’s a little more than 4 hours until the end of the year 2007. Let me just say, wow. This year has been a very tough one. It has also been one for growing and learning for me. I’ve had my eyes opened to new things and I’m sixteen and halfway through my junior year in high school. It’s crazy. This year I got my first job, started driving, turned sixteen, fell in love, had my heartbroken, lost a couple people close to me, traveled a little bit, and lived a little more.

This year has gone by so fast. I can’t believe it’s gone already. Honestly, I’m scared. I don’t know what the new year has in store for me. I do know that it means only one year until I’m finished with high school. I have at least 8 classes left to complete before it’s over. And that’s if I do early graduation. 2008 also means driver’s license and turning seventeen. One year until eighteen. Legality. Four years being North Carolina and six years since I left Kentucky. Applying to college and preparing to be away from my family.

It also means a new president and getting used to new things. Hopefully reform and improvement in our country.

Three hundred sixty six days (leap year) of endless possibilities and the unknown. Three hundred sixty six days to pull myself together and improve myself. To get over stupid teenage girl feelings for a stupid boy. Three hundred sixty six days to fall in love again. To enjoy my family more and appreciate the small things in life.

In the last three hundred sixty five days, I’ve learned to take risks and it’s okay to not be good at something. I’ve learned the responsibility of having a job and the luxury of having my own money. I can splurge on myself and not feel guilty. I’ve learned more about politics and history. In 2007, I wore my heart on my sleeve for a boy. I learned there are some guys worth fighting for. But only a little. I felt the feeling of a million butterflies in my stomach and the pain of heartbreak and death. I know what it’s like to deal with a death-by-suicide. I know what it’s like feel like the world is on your shoulders. I know what’s it’s like to grow up a little more.

I’ve grown a little more, learned a lot, and loved some more. I have to say, 2007 has definitely been the best year ever.

Hopefully, 2008 will be even better.

Happy New Year, everyone. Be safe. Have a designated driver and don’t party too hard. =]

Write you next year.

Leave a Reply

